C4G is a multi-institutional and multi-disciplinary and, thus, requires bodies with different assignments, which validate each other and collaborate towards the same goals. C4G bodies are purposely diverse, encompassing both senior accomplished specialists and young dynamic researchers, scientists and technicians, as well as professionals experienced in the management of RIs (laboratories, networks, data centers, etc). C4G decision-making body is the Coordination Board, where every institution is represented. The Executive Board is the management team responsible for the daily running of C4G.

Governing Council
DGT     Helena Ribeiro
FCUL   Luís Matias (proxy: Mário Gonçalves)
FCUP   Teresa Monteiro Seixas
FEUP   António Fiúza (proxy: José Soeiro Carvalho)
LNEG   João Carvalho
ISEL     Graça Silveira
IGOT    Gonçalo Vieira
INESCTEC  Artur Rocha
IPMA   Fernando Carrilho (proxy: Pedro Terrinha)
IST       Maria João Pereira
UA       Fernando Rocha (proxy: Carla Candeias)
UBI      Rui Fernandes [President] (proxy: Machiel Bos)
UC       Fernando Lopes
UEVORA     Mourad Bezzeghoud (proxy: José Fernando Borges)

Executive Committee
FCUL   Mário Gonçalves (Vice-President)
FEUP   António Fiúza (proxy: José Soeiro Carvalho)
LNEG   Rita Caldeira
IPMA   Pedro Terrinha
ISEL     Pedro Silva
UA       Fernando Rocha
UBI      Rui Fernandes [President] (proxy: Machiel Bos)
UBI      Paul Crocker

Organizational Chart (click to augment)


C4G is focused on the integration across disciplines and institutions, creating a prosperous relation amongst the C4G community and its stakeholders and in the creation of a culture of service providing. To this end, the C4G community is structured in Workings Groups (WGs) and in Lines of Action (LA), where WGs function as the pillars of the whole C4G structure by making available scientific data and equipment.Transversely, LAs integrate the several WGs in order to provide services of broader societal impact and thus better tackle Solid Earth Sciences complex questions.

Working Groups:

  • Seismological data and networks
  • Geophysics exploration
  • Rock physics and geomechanics laboratories
  • Geodetic and gravimetric networks and data
  • Geochemical and mineralogical laboratories
  • Magnetic data and observations
  • Geological data and laboratories
  • Geomathematics infrastructures
  • Remote sensing
  • Laboratory of paleomagnetism
  • Marine seismic reflection and bathymetry laboratory
  • Georesources, extraction and processing
  • Monitoring permafrost environments

Lines of Action:

  • Integrated services for fundamental science
  • Integrated services for georesources
  • Integrated services for geoenvironment
  • Integrated services to mitigate natural risks
  • Integrated services for cosmic risk mitigation
  • Integrated services for the mitigation of anthropogenic risks
  • Marine geology

     and the transversal LAs,

  • Professional, technical and scientific training
  • Interaction with stakeholders, including industry
  • Communication and dissemination, including the promotion of public awareness and  the dissemination of access rules and services
  • e-Infrastructure structure and maintenance

(click to augment)